Three Storm Greats to be Honored

Mar 6, 2012 Tampa Bay Storm

Three Former Storm Greats to be Honored; OL/DL Sylvester Bembery, WR George LaFrance and WR/LB Stevie Thomas

TAMPA BAY – The Arena Football League will induct its 2011 Hall of Fame Class on Thursday, March 8 at The Abbey in downtown Orlando beginning at 7 PM. The Hall of Fame Awards banquet is open to the public.

The Tampa Bay Storm will be represented by three former greats; offensive/defensive lineman Sylvester Bembery, wide receiver George LaFrance and wide receiver/linebacker Stevie Thomas.

Thomas played with the Tampa Bay Storm from 1991-1999 was a member of five ArenaBowl Championship teams, four with the Storm and was named MVP of two of those games.

Sylvester Bembery was a six-time All-Arena selection who played with Tampa Bay from 1994-99 and in 2001. He won two ArenaBowl Championships as a member of the Storm.

George LaFrance is a five-time ArenaBowl Champion (Detroit, three; Tampa Bay, two), two-time MVP (1989, 1991) and two-time Offensive Player of the Year (1989, 1991). He played in Tampa Bay from 1994-1999.

All three have their respective numbers retired by the Storm.

Also being inducted is Kurt Warner, who played with the Iowa Barnstormers for three years before joining the NFL’s St. Louis Rams in 1998. Others include Hunkie Cooper, Eddie Brown, Sam Hernandez, Daren Arbet, Gene Nudo and Barry Wagner.

The players will also be recognized at the Orlando Predators Home Opener on Friday, March 9, which marks the kick-off of the AFL 2012 season. The Predators play host to the Pittsburgh Power, live on NFL Network, with pregame coverage beginning at 8:00 p.m. ET.

The Abbey is located at 100 S. Eola Drive in downtown Orlando. Doors will open at 6 pm.